Completions List: 2023

Happy New Year! 🎉 Welcome to the first post of 2024 here at gamergal.exe where I’ll be taking a look back at all the games I finished during 2023. I managed to finish another 35 games as I have done for the previous two years (happy coincidence, again) which I documented on a nerdy spreadsheet – so here’s a post showing my results!


Stats:

Games Completed: 35

100% Games: 26

5 ★ Games: 4

2023 Releases: 12

Longest Playtime: Virche Evermore ~Error Salvation~ (~65hrs)

Platforms: Steam (27 games), Nintendo Switch (6 games), PS4 (1 game), Other PC (1 game)


gamergal.exe’s Ranking System:

5★ – Exceptional. I couldn’t fault it in any way.

4★ – Very good. Could maybe do with a few tweaks to make it even better.

3★ – Average. Nothing particularly special, but good enough to enjoy.

2★ – Below average. Needs adjustments / I didn’t get on with the game.

1★ – Poor. Whether it’s broken or just plain dull, I don’t recommend this game.

0★ – Trash. This should never have been created.


Here is my collection of finished games showing the ‘box art’ for all 35 games I completed, each with their own individual star rating and a trophy icon for those I checked off all the achievements for. These games are listed in the order I played them, starting from the top left and continuing in rows until reaching the last game of the year at the bottom right.

I’m honestly thrilled that I manged to finish another 35 games during the last 12 months! This year was an interesting year for gaming as I focused a lot more on my backlog and my stats show that I rated games more highly than in 2022, giving ★★★★★ to 4 games (2 last year) and ★★★★ to 18 games (13 last year) which proves that my gaming year was, on average, an improvement in quality. I did end up with 1 game this year though which was a total disaster, but it happens. Steam came out on top as my most popular platform again (no surprises), but I thought I’d used my Switch more than I actually did as I only finished 6 games (5 last year) – although I have put over 30hrs into two other games that I haven’t got around to finishing yet. Speaking of platforms, I’ve included my stats from both Steam Replay and Nintendo’s Year in Review below!


Below, you can find my Twitter Completions thread featuring all the games I completed throughout the year with a short summary of my thoughts for each game. You can also find my game summaries for Steam games over on my Steam Curator page by following the link.

I’ve listed all 35 games into star ranked categories below so you can clearly see which ones I enjoyed the most and those which I wouldn’t recommend. They’re listed in alphabetical order within each section, and not my personal ranked order (I’d be here all day if I had to do that)!


★★★★★

The Case of the Golden Idol

Halo 3

Our Life: Beginnings and Always

Virche Evermore ~Error Salvation~


★★★★

American McGee’s Alice

Bomb Rush Cyberfunk

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night

Charade Maniacs

Class of ’09

Class of ’09: The Re-Up

Cult of the Lamb

The Divine Speaker: The Sun and the Moon

Golden Idol Mysteries: The Spider of Lanka

Golden Idol Mysteries: The Lemurian Vampire

Halo: Combat Evolved

Halo 2

Hi-Fi RUSH

Lover Pretend

River City Girls 2

Scorn

Spirit Hunter: Death Mark

Unpacking


★★★

Alice: Madness Returns

Billionaire Lovers

Birushana: Rising Flower of Genpei

The Divine Speaker: A Bounty Hunter’s First Christmas

Gal Guardians: Demon Purge

Halo 3: ODST

Hashihime of the Old Booktown

Ib

Little Big Adventure 2

Radiant Tale

Spirit Hunter: NG


★★

PARANORMASIGHT: The Seven Mysteries of Honjo


Pathologic Classic HD


Since I’ve completed 35 games for three years running now, that’s my target again for 2024. I played a lot of backlogged games during 2023, so I hope to do much the same again this year, although the list of releases for 2024 is pretty long already! My main focus is probably going to be visual novels, but there’s also a handful of large RPGs, such as Skyrim, that I want to play this year too.

Here’s to another great year of gaming!

Thanks for reading, and Happy New Year!

One thought on “Completions List: 2023

Leave a comment