VGC Day 2: What game can you ignore the story and just “live” in the world?

This was quite a difficult question to answer since I love story driven games. Even when playing open world games and MMOs I’ve loved the story aspects so it didn’t seem right to pick one of those as it’s so hard for me to ignore the story.

Then I remembered Red Dead Redemption. Although this game had a good story, it was so easy to get side tracked and just lose yourself in the vast landscape. Even though you were in the open plains a lot of the time, the scenery was beautiful, just beckoning you to explore. There was also plenty of interesting things to find if you just wandered around aimlessly and you could often walk into some strange random occurrences such as ambushes, raids or even public hangings…

RDR

The first experience I had with Red Dead Redemption was watching my boyfriend play it about 6 years ago now. About halfway through the story, he gave me the controller and told me to entertain myself while he left the room (I don’t remember why). I decided since his horse was shot in a previous fight, I would find him the best horse and capture it… bearing in mind I had no idea how to even play this game. I found a horse I liked after a few minutes and spent the next 20 minutes chasing the same horse, trying over and over to catch it until I finally managed to tame it! I was so pleased with myself! Unfortunately, this story then has a sad ending as the horse didn’t last very long… because my boyfriend decided it would be funny to see what happened if he ran it off the edge of a cliff… heart broken </3

Anyway, after that scenario, I decided I wanted to play this game myself (and look after my own horse) and I really got into it even though I did not expect myself to enjoy it. The open world made it for me. You really could just wander in any direction and find something interesting happening somewhere without sticking to the story and I loved that about the game, hence choosing it for this category.

Check out all the 30 Day Video Game Challenge questions here and also check out Megan, A Geeky Gal’s 30 Day Challenge here! Please feel free to join in if you wish!

Leave a comment